Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


November 16, 2019 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


On Saturday November 17 Quartett Giocosa will present “Macabre”, a journey to the dark side of classical music. The program will open with Franz Schubert’s beloved String Quartet #14, “Death and the Maiden”. Written shortly after the young composer became ill and realized that he was dying, this quartet depicts a young woman’s struggle to free herself from the specter of death who pursues her to her inevitable end. The second half of the concert includes lighter spooky hits of the classical world arranged for string quartet. J.S. Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in d minor, Moussorgsky’s “Night on Bare Mountain” and “Baba Yaga” from “Pictures at an Exhibition” and Saint-Saen’s “Danse Macabre” are all on the program. Also on the program will be an American premier of a work by Norwegian composer Andreas Aaser entitled “Norwegian Danse Macabre”.
The performance will take place at 7 pm at the Federated Church of Orleans, 162 Main Street, Orleans MA. Tickets are $22, and are available at the door. More information is available at Quartett Giocosa’s website, www.quartettgiocosa.com.


November 16, 2019
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
View Event Website


Quartett Giocosa
View Organizer Website


Federated Church of Orleans
162 Main Street
East Orleans,
+ Google Map