Nominating Committee Report Summer 2022

With two board members (Dave Wilber and Marcy Feller) terming off in 2022, and one board member (Mark Adams) who won't be running for a second term, the committee met in early June to discuss potential replacements. With geographic and cultural diversity in mind, the committee suggested some names as possible candidates to serve on the board and also on the community advisory board.

At the open house event on May 1st, DJ Robert Johnson introduced John Braden to Carolyn "Lyn" Cason. Lyn worked in public media for many years and was looking at retirement and moving to the Cape full-time. John met with her on June 8th and they discussed how she could be a helpful addition to the radio station through her contacts and knowledge of grants and the like.

Additionally, John was already made aware of Clarke Dooley, an Orleans gallery owner who showed an interest in the station to one of the other board members. John met with him in early June to talk about the station and to tour Clarke's recording studio.

Returning to the list generated by the committee, John reached out to longtime supporter Cristen Nichols for a conversation about serving on the board, Christen responded that her schedule was pretty tight but that her husband Daniel Gallagher would be someone to approach. John met with Daniel on June 22nd to gauge his interest and to share some history of the station and its current status.

Lyn, Clarke and Daniel have all agreed to fill the three vacated board seats. John considers all three to be potential future replacements for the treasurer's position.

The other two incumbents from the class of 2022 (Eli Ingraham and Barbara Blaisdel) will run for their seats at the annual meeting in November. Terming off the board is board member Dave Wilber and current President Marcy Feller.

There are five members on the nominating committee, voted on by members at the 2021 annual meeting. They include:

- Sheila House (board director) (3 years)
- Justine Alten (board director) (2 years)
- Mefford Runyon (CAB member) (1 year)
- Hadley Luddy (public at large) (2 years)
- Ira Wood (non-board programmer) (1 year)

Submitted by John Braden / Executive Director / July 6, 2022